Bank statement converters without a subscription (compared)
If you convert a few PDF bank statements to Excel, CSV or QuickBooks and don't want a monthly plan, look for pay-per-statement or one-time pricing. Balanced Statement sells credit packs (€0.65 to €1.20 per statement of up to 10 pages, credits never expire) and checks every statement against its balances. BankConv and BankScanPro also price per statement, BalanceExtract has a one-payment Lifetime option, and some tools are currently free.
| Tool | Pricing model | Price per statement | Export formats | Balance check | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balanced Statement | Credit packs, pay per statement; no subscription, credits never expire | €0.65 to €1.20 per statement of up to 10 pages (excl. VAT) | Excel, CSV, QBO, Xero CSV | Yes: opening balance plus transactions must equal the closing balance, and every running balance is checked | First statement free (up to 5 pages) |
| DocuClipper | Monthly subscription, priced by pages (30% off when billed annually) | Not priced per statement; Starter $20.30 a month billed annually, 60 pages a month | XLSX, CSV, QBO, IIF, OFX, QFX, QIF | Not stated | 14-day free trial, no credit card required |
| BankConv | Pay per statement, or monthly plans | $2.99 up to 10 pages, then $0.20 per page | Excel, CSV, Google Sheets, OFX, QFX, QBO | Yes: opening balance plus credits minus debits must equal the closing balance | First 5 pages free |
| BankScanPro | Pay per statement or one-time page packs, or monthly plans | $3.99 for a statement of up to 25 pages; one-time packs from $15 for 100 pages | Excel, CSV, OFX, QBO | Yes: built-in balance checks | 1 page, plus up to 10 first-statement pages |
| BalanceExtract | Free plan, or Lifetime: one payment | Not priced per statement; Lifetime $79 once, unlimited pages | Excel and CSV (free); Lifetime adds Tally XML, OFX, QIF, QBO, IIF | Not stated | 6 pages per conversion, no signup needed |
| QuickBankConvert | Monthly or yearly subscription, plus a free plan | Not priced per statement; Plus $29 a month (billed monthly) for 50 statements a month | CSV and Excel (free); Plus adds TSV, JSON, QBO, QFX, QIF, Xero | Not stated | 3 statements a month, up to 10 pages each |
| BankStatementHub | Free while paid plans are being built | Free at the moment | Excel, CSV, QuickBooks, Xero, OFX | Yes: each row is checked against the running balance | Downloaded PDFs unlimited; scanned PDFs 20 pages a day, 50 with a free account |
| StatementTool | Free | Free, no per-page fees | XLSX, CSV, QBO, OFX, Tally XML, QIF, IIF, JSON | Yes: re-does the arithmetic on every row | Free, no account |
Other tools' details are taken from their own pricing pages, checked on 30 October 2026. Prices change: check the source before deciding. Sources: DocuClipper, BankConv (pricing), BankConv (home page), BankScanPro (pricing), BankScanPro (home page), BalanceExtract, QuickBankConvert, BankStatementHub (pricing), BankStatementHub (home page), StatementTool.
Who each tool fits
- Balanced Statement: occasional or monthly conversions without a subscription, when a checked balance matters; also scans and phone photos, and Xero CSV.
- DocuClipper: Solo bookkeepers and small businesses (Starter); also brokerage statements and other documents.
- BankConv: Occasional statements (per statement), or bookkeepers converting client statements every month (plans).
- BankScanPro: Solo work and small monthly batches (Starter) to high-volume bookkeeping (Pro); also lending workflows.
- BalanceExtract: Converting entirely on your own device, with named detection for 23+ banks.
- QuickBankConvert: Regular monthly conversions, with yearly plans for bookkeepers.
- BankStatementHub: Downloaded PDF statements now; paid plans planned for scanned statements and client work.
- StatementTool: Converting in the browser, with nothing uploaded and no account.
Questions
Which bank statement converters work without a subscription?
Balanced Statement (credit packs that never expire). Among the other tools in the table, BankConv, BankScanPro, BalanceExtract, BankStatementHub and StatementTool offer a way to pay without a recurring plan (per statement, a one-time pack or payment) or are free at the moment, according to their pricing pages checked on 30 October 2026.
Which converters check the statement's balances?
Balanced Statement checks the opening and closing balance and every running balance. BankConv, BankScanPro, BankStatementHub and StatementTool also describe a balance check on their pages; the pages we checked for DocuClipper, BalanceExtract and QuickBankConvert don't mention one.
Which ones export to QuickBooks (QBO)?
Balanced Statement exports QuickBooks Web Connect (.qbo). Of the others, DocuClipper, BankConv, BankScanPro, BalanceExtract, QuickBankConvert and StatementTool list QBO on their pages; some only on paid plans.
How was this comparison made?
From each tool's own public pricing or product page, checked on 30 October 2026, linked under the table. We only list what those pages state; prices and plans change, so check the source before deciding.